The Digital Fish Library

Advanced Search

Atheriniformes (Silversides)

Families in this Order

Family: Atherinopsidae
(New World Silversides)
Class: Actinopterygii

About This Order


This order comprises six families: Atherinopsidae, Notocheiridae, Melanotaeniidae, Atherionidae, Phallostethidae, and Atherinidae.

References: Nelson 2006

Families in the DFL database for this Order:
Atherinopsidae (11 Genera; ~108 species) DFL Record

Global Occurrence
GBIF (Global Biodiversity Information Facility)

Additional Order Information
Encyclopedia of Life
Google Scholar
Copyright © 2009 Digital Fish Library. All Rights Reserved.
Contact Us  |   Terms of Use  |   Help